Showing posts with label sandals. Show all posts
Showing posts with label sandals. Show all posts

Thursday, November 27, 2014

Crute and Ugly Shoes for 2k15

Chanel


Marchesa

Raf Simons

The Cute, the Bad and the Ugly. I'll let you decide to be honest. Which is a yay and which isnt... I'll state my piece and let you draw the conclusion. I like the black sandals. Plain and simple and black. Flat shoes go well with my long feet and wobbley legs. I wear black a lot. Too much in fact. Bought 3 black turtleneck shirts last night. I wear black for work as well which is the reason there is a black mountain of clothes sitting on my armchair. These sandals just work. Simplicity is always needed in this crazy world where being fast makes you furious. If being comfy and in black doesnt make you wanna get the shoes, then how about being in trend. Lace up sandals are making a comeback for spring of 2k15 and being minimalistic is still a go. So why not both? 

I told you I only fell in love with the black sandals and I meant it. The other shoes do catch my eye for the quirkiness or the height and even the leatherwork. So I will let you make a judgement call on the bold or beautiful!

Monday, June 2, 2014

Ugly shoes fo 2k14: Flat Sandals Edition

band of outsiders ss14

Givenchy ss14


Proenza Schouler S/S 2014

Victoria Beckham ss13
Wow! Another in depth look at ugly shoes for 2k14, Iris? Yep, I'm on an ugly roll today. I'm gonna quickly discuss my top sandal picks for this year and last. I'll start with Victoria Beckham from ss13. This look says "I twisted my ankle in Aspen and my doctor told me to wrap it." Yes, its that look! The color and design screams bandage and healthcare and I like it! Its such a boring and minimalistic look which is no surprise since Victoria Beckham made it. No shade! But we knows she sticks to certain cuts/shapes/colors that says "I work in an office a million floors from the street and I wish I could flirt with that hot accountant dude."
Band of Outsiders debuted a weirdly uncomfortable looking sandal for this summer. I say uncomfortable because honestly imagine that timberland boot shoe lace in between the delicate skin of your big toe. Yes, I can hear you wince from here. The sock probably should come with the sandals because I honestly can't imagine walking down the street with those shoes without chaffing or extreme pain. Next!
Proenza Schouler debuted these sandals this year also. They look comfy and cute considering the intricate details around the soles. They resemble sandals I remember seeing my father gather up in the Nigerian marketplace. Very homey. His were brown and not as detailed but the way most of these sandals are made usually show off great stitching and last very long. Plus you don't need to show off much toe so no need for extravagant Pedi's!
Last but not least is my favorite. These Givenchy sandals are amazing. They scream Thanksgiving pilgrims. The buckle is well placed and large, just like I enjoy the details on my shoes. The sandal is basic without becoming too basic and boring. The black is clean and cool. I am a fan! Now if I could get Givenchy to send me a pair to thoroughly review...(just kidding) no I'm serious!


Ugly Shoes for 2k14: Heeled Shoes Edition

Chloe

House of Holland FW 14




     Miu Miu F/W 2014-2015


                     
Nina Ricci AW14
Ugly! Hideous! Disgusting! Gross! How would you describe these shoes? Why would you describe them in that way? I think they're divine. I mean I would wear them of course. I have always been sort of an ugly shoe connoisseur. I've treasured wearing leopard print booties amongst a sea of adidas shell tops while in high school. I rocked hunter green elf shoes for junior year. I distinctly remember a pair of T.U.K 2-inch platform creepers in white/black that I wore for a year straight. I have nothing against ugly shoes. Not everyone can wear them though. 
Now truth be told, some of these shoes aren't ugly. Just a bit weird. Not many people can wear furry/velveteen shoes. None the less heels. I'll admit the Nina Ricci's are gorgeous in that deep grey. The fur poking out is a beautiful, plush touch to the delicate looking shoe. House of Holland definitely thought of glamour when they paired those furry low heels with gorgeous colorful outfits. The furball on top is a playful touch. It reminds me of a bunnies tail!
The Miu Miu's though need a separate section. Now I have worn a lot of hideous shoes in my lifetime, but those seem to take the cake. And I mean they took it and ran halfway around the globe with it. Those shoes are ugly. I sat around my room for a good while, thinking of how to pair them and if I could wear socks with them. I can't think of what kind of outfit to wear them with which to me is a red flag. My feet aren't cute enough to be let loose in that plastic-y stuff. In fact, my feet would probably melt. It looks a bit warm in it. Like being in a raincoat naked in the middle of a brazilian jungle.The heels look like screws and aren't even straight. They slant off towards the middle of your foot if you buy the leather ones. Very wear-at-your-own-risk! These are definitely the shoes that should stay only on the runway and not find it's way into your closet.


Saturday, May 31, 2014

Orange



Diane von Furstenberg
Word on the street is that orange is hot for 2014. So hot in fact, designers are taking them to the streets, runways, and shops. Shoes aren't being found in just white or black anymore. Orange, red, sherbert and numerous orange/red colors are popping up in shoe stores all over. You know what all these shoes have in common? Your toes will be out aka nows the time to get those feet pretty and pedicured!

Friday, May 30, 2014

I love Ugly Sandals

//ann demeulemeester//
I love ugly sandals. My love for them started out when I was a kid. My parents were immigrants, new and innocent. Broke and lost in a country full of expenses out the ass. My mom cleaned peoples houses and my father worked at a fast food restaurant before getting his law degree. Being broke and have two small children, they accepted children clothes from friends. The sandals given to me were always cute but so uncomfortable, with leather digging into my ankles or toes. Fast forward to when I was a senior in high-school and I was wearing the ugliest cool clothes. They were cute to me though. Very avant-garde. Black baggy pants, grey smock dresses and hideous chunky boots littered my bedroom floor. Ugly sandals from friends and family who were 50 years older than me filled a box in my closet. They were comfy and worn in. But when I got made fun of for not having tassels or gems on my sandals, I realized how different my footwear really was.
So what's wrong with ugly sandals to most young kids/teens? One thing is they're never in style. Ugly sandals are only seen ugly because they are comfy and a lot of them are what older people wear. (And apparently old people aren't into fashion??? We know this isn't true) I remember being dragged to Macy's with my grandmom for a pair of clarks which I fought against the whole ride there. I currently have them sitting in my closet 3 years later, comfy and casual as can be. I used to beg for my mom to take me to cheap shoe stores so I could buy the flat sole sandals with no arch support but for the newest colors and prints. That's the second thing that kids don't like. Comfy shoes aren't cheap! The first time I started to look towards comfy shoes is when I saw Born sandals in a consignment shop. I raced home, got on zappos and saw that they were $120. I never looked at them again. So many comfortable shoes have a high price simply because they last longer than those $20 flip flops from Barefeet Shoes. I had to buy shoes with my own money since I was the person saying how stylish they were and I could not pay $120 for one pair of shoes. So I bought 3 pairs of $20 dollar ones and cried when they all fell apart in 2 weeks.
So why should people even get ugly sandals if they don't look good? So many young people buy cute, flat sandals and feel proud of their recent purchase. But that all changes instantly. Your feet start to ache and get blisters in a few hours. You start to get tired and grumpy because you're in pain. Things go from bad to worse. Your feet feel as if they are on fire and you're walking as if you just skipped across a bed of hot coals! Just buy comfy shoes! Ugly shoes are almost always comfy and Birkenstocks are making a comeback this season anyway! Comfy, ugly shoes are definitely worth the price. They last way longer than those cheap shoes you buy for style and style only. Your feet won't be aching after 2 hours on them either. If you really don't have the money, just save up for one pair of comfy shoes and buy them when it's boot season! They go on sale and you can even get two pairs for the same price of one. But the point is buy comfy shoes and your feet will thank you!



These photos are not mine

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Blue's Clues



             
Top Maryam Nassir Zadeh//Middle Sophie here//Bottom Calvin Klein
Why aren't blue sandals on every foot I see in the summertime? It's time for ocean blue, baby blue, and every blue in between to be on every man, woman and child's foot across the nation. A few blues I thought would make a splash against any color scheme.


The sophies sandal picture belongs to STOP IT RIGHT NOW